## Onondaga County Sheriff's Office News Eugene J. Conway

Sheriff

For Release: Immediate 05-13-16

Contact: Detective Jon Seeber (315) 435-3033



## Sheriff Conway Honors Deputies, Staff & Citizens At Annual Awards Ceremony

**Syracuse, New York-** The Onondaga County Sheriff's Office held its annual awards ceremony yesterday afternoon in the Hosmer Auditorium at the Everson Museum, Syracuse. During the one-hour ceremony that commenced at 4:00 pm, Sheriff Eugene Conway formally recognized and honored several deputies, civilian staff personnel and fellow citizens who performed commendable acts and or services in 2015.

## **Recognitions included:**

• Sheriff's Office Civilian Recognition Award- is presented to a civilian who assists in protecting a member of the Sheriff's Office or another from physical injury or death, or gives his/her time, knowledge and/or expertise to assist the Sheriff's Office during an exceptional incident/situation or under exceptional circumstances.

Anne Sheridan of Syracuse- for assisting an off duty sheriff's detective with performing CPR. Kennard Brown Jr. of Homer- for saving an elderly man wandering in below freezing temperatures. Sahar Nero Jr. of N. Syracuse- for stopping a moving vehicle with an unconscious unresponsive driver. Colleen Davis of Syracuse- for administering Narcan and CPR to a heroin overdose victim.

## Sheriff's Office Personal Achievement Award- is presented to a sworn member who on his/her own initiative, demonstrates particular educational achievement in the field of law enforcement/corrections and or demonstrates a particular personal achievement which benefits the Sheriff's Office or the field of law enforcement/corrections.

**Lieutenant Alexander Caprilozzi** - for receiving the national designation of Certified Jail Manager. **Captain Kathleen Ford** - for receiving the national designation of Certified Jail Manager.

• Sheriff's Office Employee Recognition Award- is presented to a non-sworn member of the Sheriff's Office who are recognized and appreciated for their contributions, dedication and commitment to the organization.

**Linda Hogarbome** - for years of dedication and commitment to the agency **Constance Mathews** - for years of dedication and commitment to the agency

• **Department Commendation-** were given to the following members who administering Naloxone to save the life of an overdose victim.

Deputy Shawn Bergma Deputy Michael Bradley Deputy Ryan Brenckman Deputy Eddie Brown Deputy Daniel Butler Deputy Andrew Costello Deputy Michael Cox Deputy Lindsey Giles Deputy Todd Griffin Deputy Joshua Hill

Deputy Daniel Klasen Deputy Keith Lawrence Deputy Mason Maguet Deputy Tyler Myers Sergeant Nicholas Nami Deputy Shannon Ray Deputy Helen Salling Deputy Dane Spicer Deputy Jeffery Tomion

• Sheriff's Office Certificate of Merit -is presented to those individual, sworn or non-sworn members who, during the performance of their duties in a particular incident or event, display the use of exceptionally sound judgment, resourcefulness and adherence to the standard operating procedures of the Onondaga County Sheriff's Office. The incident or event should be of such scope that had the member not displayed that degree of judgment and resourcefulness, the event or incident may not have reached a successful conclusion.

Ret. Detective Eric Horn - for actions taken during multistate burglary investigation Detective Rudolf Reed - for actions taken during multistate burglary invest. Detective Thomas Praschunus - for actions taken during multistate burglary invest. Detective William Gabriel - for actions taken during multistate burglary invest. Detective Terrance Fischer - for actions taken during multistate burglary invest. Deputy Jennifer Hanslip - for performing CPR on an infant Detective Matthew Smith - for performing CPR on a heart attack victim while off duty Deputy Daniel Gratien - for actions taken during an inmate's visitation Deputy Scott Bollinger - for the apprehension of a larceny suspect while off duty Deputy Paul McLaughlin - for thwarting an inmate suicide Deputy Eric Johnson - for preventing contraband from entering the Justice Center

• **Medals of Distinction-** is awarded to a sworn member who consistently performs his/her duties in a manner which demonstrates exceptional loyalty, ability and dedication.

Captain Daniel Brogan Lieutenant John D'Eredita Sergeant Kevin Murphy Detective Shane LaVigne Deputy Freddy Perry • Medal of Valor -is awarded to the sworn member or members who, under extreme conditions / circumstances, attempts to prevent an incident which could cause serious physical injury or loss of life to another or under extreme conditions / circumstances, they attempt to prevent a major catastrophe involving the property of another.

**Deputy Matthew Carey** for actions taken during a burglary in progress **Deputy Andrew Costello** - for actions taken during a burglary in progress **Deputy Daniel Klasen** - for actions taken during a burglary in progress

Also recognized with the Sheriff's Special Recognition Award was NewsChannel 9's Christie Casciano for her dedication, commitment and continued support to the law enforcement community.

#####